Dáil Éireann - Volume 483 - 25 November, 1997

Written Answers. - Gender Equality.

106. Ms Fitzgerald asked the Minister for Foreign Affairs if he will give details of the boards under the aegis of his Department; and the current membership and the number of women on each of these boards. [20478/97]

Minister for Foreign Affairs (Mr. Andrews): There are six State boards or agencies which come under the aegis of the Department of Foreign Affairs. Therse are: Agency for Personal Service Overseas (APSO); Cultural Relations Committee (CRC); Irish Aid Advisory Committee (IAAC); The National Committee for Development Education (NCDE); The Refugee Agency, and Joint Department of Foreign Affairs/NGO Standing Committee on Human Rights.

The current membership, including the number of women serving on each of these boards or agencies, is as follows:

[647] Agency for Personal Services Overseas (APSO)

(six women out of a membership of 11)

Dr. Anthony Clare (Chair)

Mr. Howard Dalzell

Ms Mairéad Hayes

Fr. Des McGillicuddy

Mr. Paul Cullen

Ms Anne Connolly

Ms Philomena Murnaghan

Ms Mary Sweeney

Mr. Robin Hanan

Ms Maeve Healy

Ms June Carr

Cultural Relations Committee 1996-98

(eight women out of a membership of 18)

Prof. Brendan Kennelly

Mr. John Behan

Ms Siobhan Bourke

Mr. Paul Brady

Mr. Cecily Brennan

Mr. Terence Brown

Ms Ann Deeney

Mr. T. V. Honan

Ms Fionnuala Hunt

Mr. Alf MacLochlainn

Ms Jackie McKenna

Ms Emer McNamara

Mr. Chris Meehan

Mr. Peter Murray

Ms Doireann Ní Bhriain

Mr. Michael O'Siadhail

Ms Liz Sharkey

Ms Patricia Quinn

Members of Irish Aid Advisory Committee

(four women out of a membership of 14)

Prof. John Kelly

Ms Deirdre Farrell

Ms Gretchen Fitzgerald

Mr. Paddy McGuckian

Mr. John Gogan

Mr. Michael O'Donnell

Mr. John O'Shea

Mr. Howard Dalzell

Ms Sylda Langford

Mr. Seán Byrne

Ms Margaret Fitzgerald

Mr. Tony Fahey

Mr. Noel McDonagh

Mr. Niall Tóibín

National Committee for Development Education (NCDE)

(seven women out of a membership of 16)

Mr. Liam Wegimont

Mr. Tom O'Connor

Mr. Tom Curran

Ms Mary Quinlan

Mr. Seán MacNamara

Dr. Colm Regan

Ms Anne Webster

Mr. John Grindle

Mr. Michael O'Sullivan

Ms Bet Aalen

Mr. Albert O'Ceallaigh

Prof. Helen O'Neill

Ms Cris Mulvey

Mr. Kevin Kelly

Ms Helen Cole

Ms Heike Vornhagen


Board of the Refugee Agency

(eight women out of a membership of 15)

Ms Iseult O'Malley (Chairperson)

Ms Noreen O'Sullivan

[648] Mr. Barry O'Hara

Ms Mary Aylward

Ms Mary Lally

Mr. Seán McGabhann

Mr. Jim Cantwell

Mr. Robert McLean

Observer members

Mr. Sten Broneé

Dr. Wendy Cox (For Overseas Students)

Ms Shiela Curran

Mr. David Keane

Sr. Phil Sinnott

Rev. Dermot Clifford

Ms Nadette Foley

Joint Department of Foreign Affairs/NGO Standing Committee on Human Rights.

(seven women out of a membership of 14)

Rev. Michael Begg

Mr. Jerome Connolly

Mr. Howard Dalzell

Mr. Michael Ferrell

Mr. Kevin Kelly

Ms Karen Kenny

Ms Mary Lawlor

Ms Maura Leen

Ms Mary McEvoy

Mr. John O'Shea

Dr. Gerard Quinn

Ms Maura Quinn

Ms Niamh Reilly

Ms Mary Van Lieshout