Dáil Éireann - Volume 412 - 13 November, 1991

Written Answers. - Abolition of Local Authorities.

133. Mr. Cosgrave asked the Minister for the Environment the number of local authorities in the country which have been abolished for failing to strike a rate; and if he will give details of the period of time for which these local authorities have been abolished.

Minister for the Environment (Mr. Wilson): Since the commencement of the Local Government Act, 1941, Naas Urban District Council is the only local authority whose members were removed from office for failing to strike a rate. The surviving former members, who had been removed on 2 August 1985, were appointed as commissioners on 1 January 1988.